Bad Puppy

In general, Jora is past the prime of her puppyhood. And I am very grateful for this! I’ve said before that I am a ‘no puppies allowed’ foster. The first reason I have this policy is simply because I don’t have the time for a puppy. I am a full time MFA student, and I work part time as a dog trainer at petsmart. Therefore, I cringe at the thought of a puppy bladder that can’t be held for my full eight hour days away from home. I also train puppies, and sure they’re ‘cute’, but I like them for sort time periods where they aren’t chewing apart my things. I just am not a person that wanted that in my life! My policy is in effect because truly, I don’t have the time commitment needed for a puppy. So while many people might think I’m a big meanie, I say, “bring on the adult dogs!”

But I digress. When Jora arrived at my house, she was a complete puppy! My worst nightmare. So although she was the cutest little peanut ever, I was just waiting her out until she ate my shoes (check), drove Leroy nuts (every day), had accidents (duh), ate her own poop (this seems to be a personal problem that my fosters have), damaged a few personal items (why not) and won me over with her puppy dog eyes and loving personality (absolutely). So since I was not mentally prepared for this commitment, we had a rough few months. I would bring her to events and dream of yelling, “free puppy!”, until a nice family took her away. I also kept thinking of the only benefit in fostering a puppy- quick adoptions! (We of course are still waiting). So despite our rocky start, Baby J has grown on me as she has grown into a wonderful adolescent dog.

However! Sometimes we all like to get into trouble. 🙂

20121109-095236.jpg

Ripped up her dog bed (check)!


Any questions about Jora or the adoption process can emailed to me (Casey, aka Leroy’s mom!) at Casey@caseyheyen.com.  Please share her story with anyone looking for the perfect family companion!

 



2 thoughts on “Bad Puppy

  1. Pingback: TEN! | leroy and company

  2. Pingback: TEN! | leroy and company

Leave a Reply

