Getting to know Tofu

I’ve had Tofu for a few days now, so I thought it was time to share some things I’ve learned about her.

First of all, she was estimated to be around three years old.  But she is a spunky girl 🙂  She like to play the tag and run game, though it does make her a little nippy and jumpy.  She also likes to play with a big rope toy and tug on that.

Tofu will run around with a great deal of joy, especially now that she doesn’t panic and think she’s going to be left outside for good.  The most heartbreaking part of her first few days was that every time we went outside, she got upset.  I actually had to put her on leash, push or drag her out a few times.  Happy encouragement was not cutting it.  She would just sit as far away from the door as she could get.  😦  Then when we finally did get outside, she would just linger by the door, hoping that I wouldn’t forget about her.  I did a lot of running around my backyard this week and standing in the cold, to show her that she would not be abandoned.  She was so used to her life outside, that when she was finally in a home, she just wanted to bad to preserve that.

IMG_8463

But now Tofu is more trusting and understands that I will always let her come back inside.  She has not had even one accident in the house.  So it’s safe to say that she’s housebroken.  However, she does something which blew my mind.  She lifted her leg to pee!  Not always.. but it happened.  And I made sure it happened twice before I told anyone, because I thought I had gone crazy.  But this female dog does certainly mark it like a man.  However, normally she just does her business the squatting  regular female ladylike way.

The other things I’ve learned about Tofu is that she’s smart!  I’ve only had her for a few days, but we’ve already been working on training.  And she is doing great! Here she is in action- Tofu training!   (since then her down has gotten much better, plus we’re working on stay and paw!)  She also has good basic manners.  So while she loves getting up on the bed to take a little nap, she is not jumpy when she’s meeting new people.  Although she does get very happy and wants to smother them in kisses 🙂

IMG_3839

And while I’m spending the time to get to know Tofu and prepare her for her adoptive home, she’s also getting to know herself;  In the mirror 🙂

So enjoy and stay tuned for more!

If you have any questions about Tofu, Jora, becoming a foster parent, or the adoption process- you can email me (Leroy’s mom) at Casey@caseyheyen.com 

Visit http://www.lcpoinc.org for more information on our organization! 

One thought on “Getting to know Tofu

  1. Pingback: Doggie Friends | leroy and company

Leave a Reply

