Happy Tears and New Beginnings

Jora  was a very special foster dog.  The last time I saw her I was sad weepy nostalgic pathetic emotional a complete wreck.  I had to admit to myself, I adore this dog.  She wiggled into my home despite my “no puppies allowed” rule.  And truly, she grew up with me.  Jora had more meet and greets than any other dog, yet none ever panned out into the right fit for her. She was looked over since she was a scrappy pup of only four months old.  After a handful of meet and greets, a two hour adoption, and a trial adoptive home that decided not to keep her; I was stunned time and time again that these people did not see what I saw.  I was heartbroken that she didn’t have ‘her people’- the ones that would love her as much as I do, but more.  I knew she would find them, but I was becoming impatient, confused, torn, and sad for her.  I wanted to yell to the world, “This dog is amazing and you’re missing out!  It’s your LOSS!”  But I kept it in and tried to be patient.  The hardest part, was loving her so much.  I wanted her to feel the difference between foster love, and forever love.  I wanted someone to look into her eyes and say, “You will be with me for the rest of your days.  Your troubles are now my troubles.  I will be here for you, and never leave you.  I promise- I will never leave you.  You are not ‘homeless’ anymore.  You are mine.  And I am yours.”   And sometimes, I wanted to be the one to say that to her.

This is the lifelong struggle of a foster mom.  I battle with this every time I allow a dog to feel love, often times their first love, but I call it temporary.  Sometimes it hurts more than others.  And with Jora, I just felt that she was so deserving and ready.  I wanted her to be home.

My dad was quite smitten by her as well.  To paraphrase very accurately quote him, “Jora, we’re not allowing any more living things in this house.  None!  But if we were, I would let you stay.”  Leroy and Jora had an amazing bond as well.  She followed him around, played, snuggled, learned, and loved.  And for as amazingly tolerant as Leroy was with all of her puppy antics and instance on playing for 10 hours every day, he really loved her right back.

We lub when mom stays home from skool to write da tesis papers.

cuddles

But as it always happens with patience and a deserving dog, we got an email for Jora.  And this one was the one. ❤  Yes, I am happy to announce that Jora has finally found her forever home.  One of the most special dogs that I’ve ever known is officially adopted.  And on top of that, I think that she finally found the most perfect home that will love and appreciate her for all she has to offer.  When you have an adoption where everything just clicks, it’s as if the two souls were just waiting to find each other until the right moment in time.

485941_524239660947687_300978375_n

First family photo 🙂

804287_10151788618187166_31189388_n

Jora, now Bella ❤

Congratulations Jora, you finally got your turn. I will love you forever my little Peanut ♥

2 thoughts on “Happy Tears and New Beginnings

  1. I am jora’s (now bella) adoptive mom, April…I have tears in my eyes reading this..I truly cannot believe how long it took for her to find a home..although I am happy that it did..so happy!! As much as Bella needed me..I needed her just as much..from the moment I saw her picture she was mine..as she will be for the rest of her life…as I am writing this she is sleeping on “her” bed next to mine…she follows me around the house everywhere I go and greets me everyday after work with a wagging tail and kisses…she has only been with me for a few days and I could not imagine my life without her..she is literally the best dog in the world and I am proud to call her mine….thank you Casey for taking care of my “little girl” before we were able to find each other….

  2. I am so glad Jora found her forever home, but I also understand how hard it must be for you to see her go. It’s bittersweet for lack of a better word. I don’t foster, I pet sit for short and long term and it is very difficult for me to see them go home. But I tell myself, “they are going home and they are loved.” My head gets it, but my heart takes a little longer to understand it.

Leave a Reply

